November 25, 2020

How Many Public Holidays in Singapore 

As a student/intern/worker in Singapore, you may want to know how many public holidays in Singapore. The answer is 11. 

There are eleven public holidays in Singapore. Each major local race and religion have two holidays each notwithstanding the mainstream holidays of New Year’s Day, Labor Day, and National Day. For the Chinese, Chinese New Year (two days) and the Buddhist holiday Vesak Day (one day) are additionally watched. For the Hindus, Deepavali (one day) is marked. Regarding the Muslims, the two Islamic holidays of Hari Raya Aidil Fitri (one day on 1 Syawal) and Hari Raya Aidil Adha (one day on 10 Zulhijah) are celebrated. With respect to the Christians, the two Christian holidays of Good Friday and Christmas Day (25 December) are commended. These public holidays have been perceived since Singapore’s 1966 Holidays Act. 

Public holidays in Singapore 

There are commonly 11 open public holidays per year. However, because of the contrasts between the Islamic schedule and the Gregorian schedule, Hari Raya Aidil Fitri and Hari Raya Aidil Adha are individually marked twice in a Gregorian calendar year every 32 or 33 years. This happened in 1968 and 2000 for Hari Raya Puasa just as 1974 and 2006 for Hari Raya Haji, giving Singaporeans 12 public holidays in those years. 

If any public holiday falls on a Sunday in Singapore, the next day is pronounced to be a public holiday if it is not itself effectively a public holiday. Subsequently, since National Day (9 August) in 2015 arrived on a Sunday, two extra holidays were given (on August 7 and August 10). The president is empowered to pronounce any day to be seen as a public holiday in addition to or substitution for any day indicated in the calendar to the Holidays Act. The president may likewise proclaim any day in a year to be seen as an extra public holiday when in that year two public holidays fall around the same time. 

If any public holiday falls on a Saturday in Singapore, the next Monday is announced as a school holiday for students in primary & secondary schools, just if that Monday is not a public holiday itself. 

List of Public Holidays in Singapore in 2020 

1 January 2020 Wednesday  

New Year’s Day

25 January 2020

26 January 2020



Chinese New Year

Monday, 27 January 2020, will be a public holiday if your rest day falls on 26 January 2020.

10 April 2020 Friday Good Friday
1 May 2020 Friday Labor Day
7 May 2020 Thursday Vesak Day
24 May 2020 Sunday Hari Raya Puasa

Monday, 25 May 2020, will be a public holiday if your rest day falls on 24 May 2020.

31 July 2020 Friday Hari Raya Haji
9 August 2020 Sunday National Day

Monday, 10 August 2020, will be a public holiday if your rest day falls on 9 August 2020.

14 November 2020 Saturday Deepavali
25 December 2020 Friday Christmas Day

Thank you for reading until the end of the article “How Many Public Holidays in Singapore.”

Related article: Is It Difficult to Get a Job in Singapore?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *